Tourism


We are at your disposal to advise you on accommodation, tours of monument, sports, restaurants, walks, trendy places, etc. Waiting to meet you, we offer a quick overview to the region which is not to be missed.
In addition to diving, Ionian Dive Center will encourage you discover Marathopolis and its surroundings. The region is full of all sorts of activities from tours of historic sites to night life in some neighborhoods.
 Gargalianoi
Gargalianoi is a picturesque town near Marathopolis. Surrounded by hills covered with olive trees and vineyards which gives its charm, it astonishes by its wild and natural beauty. Built on a hill, it offers a breathtaking view of the island of Proti as well as the entire region.

 Proti island
Three kilometers west of Marathopolis, yhe water surrounding the Proti island (altitude 184 metres) offers many places ideal for diving. “Proteas” is its greek name which comes of the sea god Poseidon. Pirates sheltered during the XVIII and XIX century, this small virtually uninhabited island is also of essential archaeological importance: there are  Romain fortifications from the Preclassic period and
inscriptions on rocks, that traders and travelers left during the Classical eras as well as Roman and Byzantine period. These protected them from the gods. The island is now home to the monastery of Panagia Gorgopigi a tribute to the Virgin Mary, the icon of which, according to the legend, was found on the shore of the
 Sphactérie island
against an Athenian army during the Peloponnesian war in 425 BC. It is also at this point that in October 1827, 82 boats of the Turkish fleet suffered a terrible defeat against the French-Russian fleet, although they were outnumbered, and the bottom of the sea is still littered with fragments of this repeated naval warfare.
The island of Sphacteria, « Sfaktiria » in Greek, is an inhabited island 4.6 km long and 500 to 1000 meters wide. It houses several memorials dedicated to deceased Greek and foreign heroes who gave their lives for the independence of Greece. On the top of the island, there are remains of an ancient fort containing traces of a battle in which 420 Spartians fought desperately  
 Pylos
Also known as Navarino, Pylos is the seat of the municipality, Pylos-Nestor, created in 2010. This town is famous since antiquity for its role in the history and mythology of Greece. It was the scene of the naval battle of Navarino in 1827 where it still retains vestiges nowadays.
Today this charming little town is certainly one of the most attractive cities of the Peloponnese. The small fishing port opens into the city and the Neokastro fortress that dominates the west side of the city, are also part of its appeal.
 Marathopolis  
Located south-west Peloponnese, Marathopolis is a peaceful fishing village that has more than one asset, a port where fishing boats are a permanent attraction, the clear waters of the Ionian sea, beautiful long sandy beaches, olive fields, typical pedestrian streets with many coffee bars and taverns open late at night,
good quality musical shows and wine tasting from the region’s vineyards… in short, everything you need to spend pleasant moments of relaxation! At a short distance from the village, the island of Proti also reveals to be very charmful.
 Methoni
Methoni is a city steeped in history. Located on the roads towards the markets of the East, the Venetians were interested by the city since the XII century. To avoid attacks from pirates, they fortified the town. It then became an important and prosperous commercial place as well as a stepping stone for the Venetians traveling to the Holy Land.
Today the town has preserved, in remarkable condition, the castle built by the Venetians in the XVI century. The Venetian flag with the lion of St Mark still overlooks the town and is visible from miles around. Its fortifications are very impressive: a great wall about 3 km long, towers, bastions, curtain walls and an artillery platform are all in great condition.
 Koroni
In 2010 the city was registered on the intangible cultural heritage of humanity by Unesco, for its food quality, unchanged for centuries and whose main ingredients are olive oil, cereals, fresh vegetables and fruits sometimes dried and a small proportion of fish and dairy products.
Koroni is a coastal city situated on a hill overlooking a breathtaking Venetian castle. The town was founded during Antiquity, and the erection of the fortress during the Vie and VII century was built on the ruins of the old town. In 1206 the Venetians seized the city, an important support point on the trade route to the Holy Land.  
 Olympie
At just one hour’s drive away from Marathopolis, Olympia has the most compelling archaeological site in the region. The sanctuary was dedicated to Zeus, under whose auspices the Games were held every four years, starting 776 BC. It was here that in Antiquity, the Olympic Games were born. All the archaeological discoveries made here are grouped in the Olympia Archaeological Museum.
 Kyparissia
Located halfway between Pyrgos and Methoni, the city of Kyparissia is built on different levels, and was firmly established in the Roman, Byzantine, Frank and Ottoman empires. It is worthwhile to make a detour so as to admire the fortress built in the Frankish period. Olive and cedar forests make up the surrounding landscape. There are also turtles in the coastal waters here.
Ionian Dive Center | T. +30 27.63.06.15.51 | +32 475.973.773 | info@ioniandivecenter.com | Marathopolis Messinias 24400 Greece | VAT 800462952 | All Rights Reserved

Tourisme
Nous sommes à votre entière disposition pour vous conseiller en matière de logements, de visites de monuments, d’activités sportives, de restaurants, de shopping, de promenades, d’endroits branchés, etc. En attendant de faire votre connaissance, nous vous proposons un petit tour d’horizon des lieux à ne manquer sous aucun prétexte…
Outres ses activités de plongée, Ionian Dive Center vous fait découvrir Marathopolis et ses alentours. Ceux-ci regorgent d’activités en tous genres, des visites de sites historiques à une vie nocturne trépidante dans certains quartiers. 
 Gargalianoi
Gargalianoi est une ville pittoresque et caractéristique du Péloponnèse, située près de Marathopolis. Entourée de collines couvertes d'oliviers et de vignes, qui lui donne un charme fou, elle étonne par sa beauté sauvage et naturelle. Construite sur une colline, elle offre une vue imprenable sur l'île Proti et sur toute la région. 

 L’île Proti
A trois kilomètres à l’ouest de Marathopolis, l’île Proti (altitude : 184 mètres) est entourée de nombreux endroits pour la plongée. Son nom grec - « Proteas » - vient du fils du dieu de la mer, Poséidon. Refuge des pirates aux XVIIIe et XIXe siècles, cette petite île quasiment inhabitée est également d’une importance archéologique essentielle : on y trouve les vestiges de fortifications de l’époque
préclassique et des inscriptions sur des rochers que les commerçants et voyageurs y laissèrent durant les ères classique, romaine et byzantine afin d’obtenir la protection des dieux. L’île abrite aujourd’hui le monastère de Panagia Gorgopigi en hommage à la Vierge Marie dont l’icône, selon la légende, fut retrouvée sur le rivage de l'île.
 L'île de Sphactérie
athénienne durant la guerre du Péloponnèse en 425 avant notre ère. C’est aussi à cet endroit qu’en octobre 1827, les 82 embarcations de la flotte turque subirent une terrible défaite face à une flotte franco-russe pourtant numériquement inférieure ; le fond de la mer est encore jonché des débris de cette terrible guerre navale.
Longue de 4,6 km et large de 500 à 1.000 mètres, l’Île de Sphactérie - « Sfaktiría » en grec - est inhabitée. Elle abrite des monuments funéraires dédiés aux héros grecs morts pour l'Indépendance de la Grèce. Au sommet de l'île, les vestiges d'un fort antique renferment les traces d’une bataille lors de laquelle 420 Spartiates résistèrent désespérement à une armée
 Pylos
Egalement connue sous le nom de Navarin, Pylos est le siège de la municipalité de Pylos-Nestor, créée en 2010. La ville est célèbre depuis l'antiquité pour son rôle dans l'histoire et la mythologie de la Grèce. Elle fut notamment le théâtre de la bataille navale de Navarin en 1827, dont elle conserve encore les vestiges de nos jours. Aujourd’hui, cette 
charmante petite  ville est assurément l'une des villes les plus attrayantes du Péloponnèse. Le petit port de pêcheurs qui s'ouvre sur la ville et la forteresse hexagonale de Neokastro, qui domine le côté occidental de la ville, font également partie de ses attraits.
 Marathopolis  
Située au sud-ouest du Péloponnèse, Marathopolis est un paisible village de pêcheurs qui possède plus d’un atout : un port où les bateaux de pêche constituent une attraction permanente, les eaux cristallines de la mer Ionienne,de longues plages magnifiques de sable fin, des champs d’olivier, des rues piétonnes avec de
nombreux cafés et tavernes ouverts tard le soir, des spectacles musicaux de qualité, des dégustations de vin des vignobles de la région... bref, tout ce qu’il faut pour passer des moments de détente agréables ! A quelques encablures du village, l'île Proti dévoile également un charme fou.  
 Methoni
Methoni est une ville chargée d’histoire. Située sur leur route vers les marchés d'Orient, les Vénitiens s'y intéressent dès le XIIe siècle. Pour éviter les attaques des pirates, ils fortifient la cité. Celle-ci devint ensuite un centre commercial important et prospère ainsi qu’une étape pour les Vénitiens se rendant en Terre Sainte.
Aujourd'hui, la ville a conservé, dans un état remarquable, le château construit par les Vénitiens au XVIe siècle, surplombé encore de nos jours du drapeau vénitien du lion de Saint-Marc visible à des kilomètres à la ronde. Ses fortifications sont très impressionnantes : grand mur d'enceinte d'environ 3 km de long, tours, bastions, courtines, plate-forme d'artillerie…
 Koroni
En 2010, la ville a été inscrite sur la liste du patrimoine culturel immatériel de l’humanité de l'UNESCO pour la qualité de son modèle nutritionnel, demeuré inchangé depuis des siècles et dont les principaux ingrédients sont l’huile d’olive, les céréales, les fruits et légumes frais ou séchés, une proportion limitée de poisson et les produits laitiers.
Koroni est une ville côtière nichée sur une colline surplombant un château vénitien. Fondée durant l'Antiquité, elle vit apparaître l’érection d’une forteresse aux VIe et VIIe siècles, érigée sur les ruines de l’ancienne ville. En 1206, les Vénitiens s'emparent de la ville, véritable point d'appui pour la route du commerce vers la Terre Sainte. 
 Olympie
A une heure de route à peine de Marathopolis, Olympie possède le site archéologique le plus incontournable de la région. Le sanctuaire était dédié à Zeus, sous l'égide duquel se tenaient des Jeux, tous les quatre ans, à partir de 776 avant notre ère. C’est ici que sont nés, durant l'Antiquité, les célèbres Jeux Olympiques. Toutes les découvertes archéologiques sont regroupées au musée archéologique d'Olympie.
 Kyparissia
Située à mi-chemin entre Pyrgos et Methoni, la ville de Kyparissia est construite en terrasses. Elle a fait partie des empires romain, byzantin, franc et ottoman. La forteresse construite sous la période franque vaut le détour. Forêts d’oliviers et de cèdres composent aujourd’hui son merveilleux paysage. A ne pas manquer sur son littoral : les tortues de mer !
Ionian Dive Center | T. +30 27.63.06.15.51 | +32 475.973.773 | info@ioniandivecenter.com | Marathopolis Messinias 24400 Grèce | TVA 800462952 | All Rights Reserved